The Ex – Diane Saxon


Blurb…

As a heat wave grips the country, DS Jenna Morgan is called to a domestic incident at the home of a young family in Ironbridge.

Pregnant Imelda Cheetham-Epstein has been found unconscious by her husband, Zak with serious head injuries. 

When Jenna arrives on the scene, she discovers something even more disturbing – the couple’s eleven-month-old son, Joshua, is missing and the race against time begins to find him.

Is this an accident or something more sinister?

Are the two incidents linked?

Or has something in the Cheetham-Epstein’s past caught up with them?

My Thoughts….

I was not aware that this was a part of a series involving DS Morgan however I found this to be just as good as a stand-alone.  There were parts where previous cases were mentioned that piqued my interest and as this is my favourite genre – my tbr list just grew! 

Zak’s wife was attacked, left for dead and their 11 month old son was kidnapped – DS Morgan comes on the scene to try to find out what happened – was it domestic abuse or something more sinister?  Although we find out from the beginning who the culprit is and the reasoning behind her actions it’s interesting to see how the police come to their conclusions.

I did figure out the twist quite early into the book – just a couple chapters in however I still found this to be a thoroughly enjoyable and thrilling read. 

Thank you to Netgalley and Diane Saxon for the free copy in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment